Skip to main content
This is the main content

Implementing the Pyramid Model in Family Child Care Homes


These training materials were designed to provide training specific to implementing the Pyramid Model in family child care homes. The content, video, activities and action plans focus on the needs of family. There are four modules based on the tiers of the pyramid: Module 1: Nurturing and Responsive Relationships Module 2: High Quality Supportive Environments Module 3: Targeted Social Emotional Supports Module 4: Behavior and Individualized Supports The modules can be broken into smaller trainings in order to meet the needs of family child care providers. Ideally, family child care providers would work on specific content areas and strategies in between trainings to strengthen what they are already doing as well as continue to build their skills around promoting social emotional development and preventing challenging behavior.

Course Image

Career Pathway


Coursework Educational Level

Entry Level

Coursework Type of Credit

Clock Hours

Course Developer

Tweety Yates, National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning

Coursework Delivery Mode

Face to Face

Coursework Audiences

Coaches and Trainers
Family Child Care Professionals


English, Spanish